this is how it feels when a friend leaves.

Oluchukwu.
1 min readJul 14, 2024

--

The wind gently caresses my locs. I sigh in muted pleasure, grateful for nature’s gentle touch as I mindlessly scroll through my phone.

My friend hugs me suddenly and I’m jolted out of my daydreaming back to reality.

The music is loud and thumping, even here, outside the auditorium. There is so much colour in the shape of clothing, in the form of figures and their complexions.

He tells me his cab is here and he’s leaving. I hug him back and tell him that it was so wonderful to see him again. In my heart, I am already making space for the vacuum his absence will make.

As he walks in the dark, transitioning from form to shadow, there’s only one thought in my mind:

Get home safe.

p.s: I started a newsletter series for July. It would mean the world if you read, shared the letters, and subscribed. Check it out here.

--

--

Oluchukwu.

i was born in aba, so all my life i've felt like a spare part.